VIRGINIA: FAIRFAX CIRCUIT COURT

Plaintiff
VS. CL No. -

Defendant

SERVE: Steve Descano, Commonwealth Attorney
4110 Chain Bridge Road
Fairfax, VA 22030

FRIDAY MOTIONS DAY — PRAECIPE/NOTICE

Moving Party: X Plaintiff __ Defendant __ Other
Title of Motion: Approval of Right to Be Eligible to Vote Attached __ Previously Filed
DATE TO BE HEARD: Time Estimate (combined no more than 30 minutes):
Time to be Heard: ___9:00 a.m. with a Judge _____9:00 a.m. without a Judge
__ X 10:00 a.m. (CIVIL Cases) Does this motion require 2 weeks notice? r Yes |— No
__ 11:30 a.m. (DOMESTIC Cases) Does this motion require 2 weeks notice? Yes No
Case continued from:
(Date)
Moving party will use Court Call telephonic appearance: LYes LNO
JudE must hear this motion because (check one reason below):
The matter is on the docket for presentation of an order reflecting a specific ruling previously made by that Judge.

|:This Judge has been assigned to this entire case by the Chief Judge; or,
|:The Judge has advised counsel that all future motions, or this specific motion, should be placed on this Judge’s

docket
PRAECIPE by:
Printed Attorney Name/ Moving Party Name Firm Name
Address
Tel. No. Fax No. VSB No. E-Mail Address (optional)

CERTIFICATIONS

| certify that | have in good faith conferred or attempted to confer with other affected parties in an effort to resolve the
subject of the motion without Court action, pursuant to Rule 4:15(b) of the Rules of the Supreme Court of Virginia; and,
| have read, and complied with, each of the Instructions for Moving Party on the reverse side of this form.

Moving Party/Counsel of Record
CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

| certify on the day of , , a true copy of the foregoing Praecipe was

mailed faxed delivered to all counsel of record pursuant to the provisions of Rule 4:15(e) of the Rules
of the Supreme Court of Virginia.

Moving Party/Counsel of Record
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INSTRUCTIONS FOR MOVING PARTY

DATE/TIME: All motions should be noticed for the 10:00 a.m. Civil Docket (All Law Cases) or the 11:30 a.m.
Domestic Docket (All Domestic Cases and Fiduciary Matters) unless the moving party believes the motion will be
uncontested. All motions believed to be uncontested should be noticed for 9:00 a.m. All motions noticed for 9:00
a.m. should be set without a judge, unless evidence will be required (e.g., Ex Parte Proof, Infant Settlements,
Fiduciary Matters), or if it is necessary for the order to be entered that morning rather than in chambers at a later
time. A minimum of two weeks’ notice is required for all motions for Summary Judgment, Demurrers,
Pleas in Bar, motions pertaining to discovery disputes and other motions for which any party desires to
file a memorandum. A memorandum of points and authorities of five pages or less must accompany any of
these pleadings and any other motion placed on the Two Week Docket. If either party believes it necessary to file
a memorandum exceeding five double-spaced pages, then the parties must utilize the Briefing Schedule
procedure: contact opposing counsel or the opposing party and by agreement conduct a telephone conference
call with the Calendar Control Judge, 703-246-2221; or, if agreement is not possible, give advance notice of an
appearance before the Calendar Control Judge to establish a Briefing Schedule.

Each side should bring a draft proposed order to Court on the day of the hearing, as the ruling must be
reduced to an order that day, absent leave of Court. Cases may only be removed from the docket by the Court
or by counsel for the moving party or the moving party. One Week Motions may be removed from the docket up
until 4:00 p.m. on the Thursday preceding the hearing date, by contacting the Motions Clerk: 703- 246-4355. Two
Week Motions may not be continued or removed from the docket after 4:00 p.m. on the Friday preceding the
hearing date, without leave granted by the Judge assigned to hear the motion, for good cause shown.

If a hearing on any motion must take longer than thirty (30) minutes, the moving and responding parties, or their
counsel, should appear before the Calendar Control Judge to request a hearing for a day other than a Friday.
See, “Motions Requiring More than 30 Minutes” in “Friday Motions Docket Procedures” on the Court’s website at
https://www.fairfaxcounty.gov/circuit/civil-case-information/friday-motions.

MOTIONS TO RECONSIDER: Do not set a Motion to Reconsider for a hearing. (See Friday Motions Docket
Procedures, available from the Clerk’s Office, the Bar Association office or on the Court’s website at the address
above.

CERTIFICATIONS OF MOVING PARTY/COUNSEL: Rule 4:15(b) of the Rules of the Supreme Court of Virginia
provides in pertinent part that “Absent leave of court, and except as provided in paragraph (c) of this Rule,
reasonable notice shall be in writing and served at least seven days before the hearing. Counsel of record shall
make a reasonable effort to confer before giving notice of a motion to resolve the subject of the motion and to
determine a mutually agreeable hearing date and time.”

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE: Pursuant to Rule 4:15 (e), a motions pleading shall be deemed served when it is
actually received by, or in the office of, counsel of record through delivery, mailing, or facsimile transmission; not
when it is mailed or sent.

INFORMATION FOR MOVING PARTY

COURTCALL TELEPHONIC APPEARANCE' In most cases, Virginia attorneys may appear by phone in lieu of
appearing in Court for the hearing. To set up a telephonic appearance, you must call 888-882-6878. For
information, please visit the Court's website at https://www.fairfaxcounty.gov/circuit/services/courtcall. The Clerk’s
Office prefers that you notify it that you have set up a telephonic appearance by calling 703-246-2880 no later
than 4:00 p.m. on Thursday prior to the hearing date. The Court encourages use of this procedure, and either
party may appear by phone.

NOTE: Telephonic appearance is only for members of the Virginia State Bar and licensed attorneys allowed to
practice pro hac vice in the Fairfax Circuit Court (with a member of the Virginia State Bar present over the phone
or in person).

CONCILIATION PROGRAM: The Fairfax Circuit Court strongly encourages use of conciliation procedures to
resolve motions. The Fairfax Bar Association’s Conciliation Program conducts conciliation without charge by
experienced litigators, who meet in person or by telephone with all interested parties. To request conciliation, fax
a Request for Conciliation form to the Fax Hotline, 703-273-1274; e-mail a request for conciliation to:
fixconciliation@aol.com; or leave a voice mail message at 703-627-1228. You will be contacted before the
hearing date by a representative of the Conciliation Program.
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